Makaveli Rises Again!

Well….. if you haven’t read about how all the celebs feel about the new “Tupac – All Eyez On Me” film including Fiddy and Jada Pinkett Smith, then you are clearly not on planet earth! A few years ago, it came out that there was going to be some kind of movie released about Pac and his life. I knew I wouldn’t have a chance of getting to speak with Afeni (Tupac’s mother who was still alive at the time) so, me being one of Tupac’s biggest fans and knowing exactly who was a part of his career, I decided to find out exactly what the closest people to him felt about a movie being released.

It has always been a mixed bag of feelings when speaking to various people on weather a film would really actually portray who Tupac really was and what he stood for. So I took to an email and spoke with Leila Steinberg who was Pac’s manager and really had an integral part of him rising to the amount of stardom he managed to achieve.

Leila actually was very open about the movie and she felt extremely passionate that it was “done right” she said that when thinking about pac and who he was as a person, she “can’t fathom any other human being able to portray who he really was.” “He was a special person and I fell in love with who he was.” She had admitted in an interview with XXL magazine in 2011, that her relationship with Tupac had chemistry and it did have an affect on her marriage. Leila seemed open to the idea of releasing a film about Tupac and was looking forward to seeing it.

I also spoke with Gobhi Rahimi, who had been working on his own project to release a film “7DayzTheMovie” specifically 7 days before Tupac died. Gobi was Tupac’s and the rest of his Outlawz crew videographer. He was the only person to be granted permission from Pac to film him. Again, Gobi claims to have been and we see video footage of how close he really was to Tupac, especially in his last few days.

Gobi had worked on videos including “How Do You Want It” and “2 Of Amerikaz Most Wanted”. He was there on the night Pac was shot, and he explained to me how important it was for him to release a film and I think the reason he felt so passionate about it is because in other interviews he has explained how something was “just off” that night that Pac died.

Gobi obviously, didn’t go into detail with me about what had happened, but it did seem as though he felt he should be the only person creating a film to show what had happened and in other interviews he has publicly come out and said how Pac had struggled to “get his money” from Suge Knight and how he had also been told that people were going to come into the hospital and “finish him off” whilst he was still in a coma.

Lastly, I spoke to Demitrius Shipp JR who to say the last seemed to be a ladies man just like Tupac. He seemed to exude the attitude that Pac once had (obviously from me being obsessed and watching every video available of Tupac) and that still lives on today.  Demitrius was of course honoured to be playing such an influential figure in not only rap music, but in trying to create equal rights for black people and making their lives better. He said “It’s amazing man, I really gotta put my all into this and the pressure is 110% there.”

What are your thoughts on the movie if you have seen it? I haven’t seen it yet what with me being in the UK, but from getting in touch with all of these guys it seemed to be they were all passionate about getting it right. Let me know what you think about the movie in the comments or holla at me via email!

P.S. you might be wondering why I am so obsessed with Tupac and that story is for another day, but I do have a portrait tat of PAC on the inside of my left arm and so, I have uploaded it for you all to see!

 

921639_10151588805534371_128414569_o

Leave a Reply

